Child Care Qualifications and Training Committee

Board Members

Chair

Joanne Broatch, Carberry

Vice Chair

Burcu Ntelioglou, Brandon (bil.)

Members

Debbie O'Donnell Weigelt, Winnipeg Sharon Varga, Winnipeg Joanne Vinet, Winnipeg (bil.) Arlene Rollins, Lac du Bonnet Laura Matlashewski, Winnipeg Heather Cybulski, Winnipeg

Mandate:

The Committee is to consist of no more than nine members who, in the opinion of the minister, have knowledge or experience relevant to the qualifications and training of persons who provide licensed childcare. The Minister must also designate one Chair and one Vice-Chair. This board should have a minimum of one French-speaking member.

Authority:

The Community Child Care Standards Act

Responsibilities:

The Committee's function is to advise and make recommendations to the Minister of Families or the Director of Early Learning and Child Care, about any matter relating to the qualifications and training of staff facilities, or any other duty assigned to it.

Membership:

The committee consists of no more than nine persons appointed by the minister. To be eligible for appointment as a member of the committee, a person must, in the opinion of the minister, have knowledge or experience relevant to the qualifications and training of persons who provide licensed child care. The minister must designate one member of the committee as chair and another as vice-chair, to act if the chair is absent or unable to act.

Length of Terms:

A member is to be appointed for a term not exceeding three years. After a member's term expires, the member continues to hold office until he or she is re-appointed, the appointment is revoked or a successor is appointed.

Desirable Experience:

- Persons employed by daycare centres
- Parents of children receiving day care
- Faculty members of universities or community college who teach related courses.

Time Commitment:

TBA.

Meetings:

Up to six meetings per year (3 hour duration). Additional meetings can be called by the Chair if necessary

Location: Virtual and in-person as required

Remuneration:

Council members receive a per diem rate of:

Chairperson \$ 168 (full day)

\$ 96 (half day)

Members \$ 96 (full day)

\$ 55 (half day)