Consumer Protection and Government Services.....



Automobile Injury Compensation Appeal Commission

Commissioners

<u>Chief Commissioner</u> Laura Diamond, Winnipeg +

Part-Time Deputy Chief Commissioner

Pamela Reilly, Winnipeg +

Jacqueline Freedman, Winnipeg (bil.) +

Part-time Commissioner

Nikki Kagan, Winnipeg[^]

Camille Sylvester, Winnipeg^{*}

Dr. Robert Diamond, Winnipeg[^]

Keith Poulson, Winnipeg*

Dr. Adejobi Adeloye, Winnipeg^{*}

Ward Keith, Winnipeg^{*}

Dr. Frank Hechter, Winnipeg^{*}

Dr. Janine Grenier, Portage La Prairie^ (bil.)

Kirsten Legrange, Winnipeg[^] (bil.)

Ethel Timbang, Thompson^

Karissa Cymbaluk, Gonor^

Corrine Thompson Bobrowich, St. Andrews^

Dr. Carolyn Weiss, St. Andrews^ (bil.)

Janet Frohlich, Winnipeg[^]

Dr. Sharon Macdonald, Winnipeg^{*} (bil.)

Antoine Hacault, Ile Des Chenes^ (bil.)

Dr. Lorna Turnbull, Winnipeg^{*}

Sandra Oakley, Winnipeg[^] (bil.)

- ^ Government of Appointments
- + Civil Servant

Mandate:

AICAC is a specialist tribunal established to give Manitobans a fair, impartial and informal process to appeal Internal Review Decisions concerning benefits under the Personal Injury Protection ("PIPP") of Manitoba Public Insurance Corporation ("MPIC"), a "no-fault" insurance program.

Authority:

The Manitoba Public Insurance Corporation Act

Responsibilities:

The Commission is responsible to serve Manitobans and ensure that they receive the benefits to which they are entitled under the MPIC Legislation. The Commission hears appeals from Internal Review Decisions made by MPIC. The Commission may confirm, vary or rescind MPIC's decisions, or make any decision that MPIC could have made, but it may not increase benefits awarded to the appellant beyond the coverage limits as set out in the Act.

Membership:

The Lieutenant Governor in Council appoints all Commissioners. AICAC currently has one full-time Chief Commissioner and two Deputy Chief Commissioners. AICAC also has a roster of part-time Commissioners who are called upon to form panels for specific hearings.

Length of Terms:

The Chief Commissioner is appointed for a term of not less than five years and not more than seven years and holds office until re-appointed or replaced.

Other Commissioners are appointed for terms of three years and hold office until reappointed or replaced.

Desirable Expertise:

There is no formal educational requirement.

Commissioners must be able to read complex written material, analyze written and verbal information in order to ascertain facts, and apply relevant legislation to this written and verbal information.

Commissioners:

Must be able to communicate verbally and have the ability to ask questions using open ended, non-judgmental language;

- Have active listening skills;
- Be able to read and interpret policies/legislation and how it applies to the case;
- Use plain language;
- Adhere to a high degree of confidentiality; and
- Have the ability to make decisions in a fair and unbiased manner.
- The Chief Commissioner and Deputy Chief Commissioners should have a legal background.

Meetings:

Frequency: Every month in panels of three.

Part-time Commissioners on average sit three days per month.

Location: The majority of hearings are held in Winnipeg. Hearings are usually ½ day

or full day. Where feasible, the Commission will travel outside of Winnipeg to conduct a hearing or, if it is appropriate and of benefit to an appellant

who lives and works elsewhere, a hearing may be conducted by teleconference.

Remuneration:

Commission members receive a per diem rate of:

Chair

Person: Deputy Chief Commissioner (SF5) Salary Range \$ 109,620 - \$131, 238 (1.0 FTE)

Employment Contract

Members: \$192 (Full Day)

\$109 (Half Day)

Members are reimbursed for out-of-pocket expenses in accordance with the GMA.